Journey of Hope Awards

Each year Standpoint recognizes the passion and dedication of those who work to bring safety and justice to domestic and sexual violence victims/survivors. The work we do as change makers often goes overlooked. This award recognizes the courage and strength of these individuals and honors their on-going efforts to; provide advocacy and justice to domestic and sexual violence survivors; help build communities intolerant of domestic and sexual violence; and work to change people's lives for the better.  

This is a chance for coworkers to celebrate each other and an opportunity for Standpoint to honor passion and dedication within the field. We seek candidates in three categories: Advocacy, Legal Services, and Outstanding Community Service.


Standpoint accepts community nominations, which can be made by anyone with knowledge of the nominee’s accomplishments. However, self-nominations will not be accepted. If you wish to nominate more than one person, a separate letter should be used for each. Nominations must include the following:

  • Nomination form

  • Letter of Nomination providing as many facts possible about the nominee and their hard work and passion (no more than three, double spaced, typed pages)

  • Two references attached with contact information


The completed Nomination Form and supporting materials should be sent to:


Journey of Hope Award 


2233 University Avenue West, Suite 150

St. Paul, MN 55114 or Fax: 612-343-0786 


Nominees will be evaluated on the basis of their:

  • demonstrated ability to instill the desire to end sexual and domestic violence in individuals, systems, or the community;

  • understanding the needs of battered women and their children; and

  • unique contribution to the anti-violence movement


Those selected to receive the award will have:

  • strong leadership skills;

  • proven record of significant contributions to work on behalf of battered women and their children;

  • demonstrated commitment to the personal and professional development of women;

  • worked in the domestic violence field for a minimum of three years

The Journey of Hope Awards presentation will take place in October—during Domestic Violence Awareness Month. Watch our Facebook page and your emails for details!


2018 Journey of Hope Award Ceremony details can be found here.

Journey of Hope Award 2018 Recipients

  • Doreen L’Allier, Advocate, 360 Communities

  • Referee Mary Madden, Fourth Judicial District, Family Court

  • Chief Jim Hughes, Sartell Police Department

Click on photos to view slideshow of our awardees!

You can view more photos of Stand with Standpoint 2018 below. Thanks to Maria Lloyd Photography and Lynn Muller for capturing a wonderful evening!